#makeup

Maybelline Better Skin Powder

Maybelline is a reliable drugstore find that we all can agree! From its mascara to lipstick, you can never go wrong with it. So when I received an email that I will be testing its new foundation powder, I was more than happy to do so.

image

Even though I got the Maybelline Better Skin powder compact for free, it does not influence my review to be biased. These comments are purely mine, and here they are!

Let’s start with the packaging. Aside from being handy with its flat container (like a small phone), I can say that it is sturdy too. It actually dropped on a cemented ground from my bag, and I was worried that it will break into pieces. It happened already to me before, so I know there’s a chance that the new powder I got will be destroyed in an instant. But no, it didn’t! Unlike other compact powder, this container did it’s job in protecting the contents well.

Another thing I noticed were the holes underneath the sponge case of the packaging which is good for ventilation. I have experienced having to retouch my face with compact powder in hot weather, so I could just imagine how my sweat mixes up on the sponge and results in a bad smell on the sponge. The bottom holes could help avoid unpleasant odors or even possible bacteria building up. Regularly washing the sponge is still a good practice though. Likewise, I appreciate the sponge which comes with the powder. The powder can be used with a dry or wet sponge. The sponge is a bit rubbery when you wet it with water yet absorbent with the powder.

For the makeup itself, I was amazed how the color matched well with my skin tone. I did not have the opportunity to choose in person the perfect tone which fits me, and I was just able to pick the shade during a pre-survey of the product testing. Everything was done online, so I can also atest that buying one of this online will not be difficult when picking one’s true shade. I was happy with the natural blend it created, and it made my face oil-free. Although it was not able to hide all my pores (probably some are too big), it worked effectively in covering my uneven tones.

Leave a Reply

